Booksluttery: Let yourself become enthralled.

I’ve been sensing a theme with rather a lot of my favourite books that I’ve read thus far this year.

Said books include:

• Catherynne M. Valente’s The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making (Read the first chapter, if you haven’t yet already and don’t believe me!)
• Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus
• Lauren Oliver’s Liesl and Po

(Hilariously and ironically, my favourite book I have read thus far this year is resoundingly Will Lavender’s Dominance. But then again, Will Lavender generally has that sort of reaction with me — nothing in 2009 came close to touching his Obedience, either. For lack of a better term, this man’s writing gets my proverbial bookslut rocks off, and hard.)

Modern-day fairytales, and modern retellings of fairytales, things that are more fantastical than even fantasy, really do seem to be making a resurgance these days.

And while I normally don’t pay much attention to or care much about current writing trends (my brain does as it will, and I’ve long since given up even attempting to argue), this is one that I actually fit into, that I can actually get behind.

The world needs all the magic it can get, now. ♥

And what better place to find it than inside books?

Maybe it’s a neccessity even moreso than a trend; fairytales are reminders that the world can be fascinating and beautiful, even amidst the dangers and the filth. Perhaps the word I’m looking for is enthralling; fascinating, yes, but still with an element of danger and threat involved.

Maybe this is what resonates with the world at large, right now. I’d be lying if I said it didn’t resonate with me.

So go take a peek at The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland for now, and make a note to hunt down The Night Circus and Liesl & Po when they come out, and tell me what you think! ♥

(And then if you need a break from the fantastical, go get yourself a copy of Dominance, too. You can thank me later.)

One thought on “Booksluttery: Let yourself become enthralled.

Leave a Reply

