Writerly Wednesday: Self-publishing and internal exclamation points ahoy!

Naturally, there have been rather a lot of authors I’ve come to adore and respect and be inspired by over the years. (Including but certainly not limited to Kevin J. Anderson, Neil Gaiman, Stephen King, J.R.R. Tolkein…)

But there is one author in particular who makes every fibre of my being go, Yes. That is what I want to be when I grow up.

That one author is Holly Lisle.

She nails it, she gets it, and she reminds me of just what exactly it is that I am striving for.

There was really only one major place where I disagreed with her visions: She was traditionally published, whereas, after a lot of research and thought, I plan on going the self-pubbing route.

But then yesterday, I got the latest issue of her newsletter in my inbox, with a subject that spoke of a “new career”.

And sure enough, my favourite author in the entire world has now chosen to self-publish, too.

And, not at all surprisingly, she nails the reasons why I agree that self-publishing is the way to go.

I am so ridiculously happy and proud and excited right now. I cannot wait to see where she goes with this, and to see her older works go back into circulation, and maybe even see some of her older worlds revisited. (It very nearly ripped my Libra-tastic little self in half to choose one for the purposes of that poll, but in the end, I had to go with the Secret Texts. Not only was the Secret Texts trilogy my very first introduction to her work, but its prequel Vincalis the Agitator remains one of my absolute favourite books of all time.)

And what greater validation for my own career choice could there be than this?

Ultimately, in the end, my characters and muses order me around enough as it is. It’s laughable to think that my brain has the time to be ordered around by traditional publishing companies, too.

Ergo, self-publishing it is!

And it’s time that I got my own act together and got this pretty little circus on the road. ♥

2 thoughts on “Writerly Wednesday: Self-publishing and internal exclamation points ahoy!

  1. I can’t say that I’ve ever read Holly Lisle before (I’ve been meaning to, however), but I’m glad to see that self-publishing is losing its bad rap — it must be, if such a big-name and influential writer is singing its praises.

    I am /sort-of/ self-publishing, myself. By which I mean I run a publishing company, as does my mom — but I’m currently the layout person. So I’ll be doing the layout and cover design for my own book, but it will come out under my mom’s company’s imprint. We did it this way because, well, we wanted to avoid the stigma of self-publishing but didn’t want to deal with the legacy publishing crap.

    Anyway, I wish you luck with your book/s. :) I shall be adding your blog to my list of writers’ blogs over on mine.

  2. Pingback: Writer Wednesday: it’s like the future sneaked up behind me and shouted “Boo!” | Katje van Loon

Leave a Reply

