Happy October, and favourite autumn reads! ♥

It’s October! ♥

And I’ve come to the conclusion that the only way to both properly celebrate my very favourite month and prep myself for next month’s NaNo is to glut myself on all of my favourite books.

I plan to reread all of my top five, all in one go; I want to spend October wrapped up in them and then hit November all fuzzy and warm with booklove (and hopefully traipse my way through NaNo in a similar state!).

That top five?

1. Good Omens, by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett
2. The God in Flight, by Laura Argiri
3. Lisey’s Story, by Stephen King
4. The Picture of Dorian Gray, by Oscar Wilde
5. The Great Gatsby, by F. Scott Fitzgerald

(I love how this list seems to suggest that I am a sparkly Scorpionic snarkball with the artistic sensibilities of a gay Victorian, because really it’s true. This pile of books tells you pretty much everything you could ever need to know about me.)

Alongside those? The new J.K. Rowling! Even if I can’t quite cram Harry Potter into that top five, she certainly more than earned herself a place amidst my favourites. And because they’re fantastic autumn reads and each have huge portions of my heart unto themselves, some Bradbury and T.S. Eliot; and then perhaps some Wodehouse to round off the month and kick me into high gear for the Pile O’ Shenanagins otherwise known as NaNoWriMo.

This is going to be fun. :)

What are your favourite autumn reads? ♥

One thought on “Happy October, and favourite autumn reads! ♥

  1. Favorite reads so far as autumn goes? I very much second Dorian Gray and Good Omens. I would also add:

    A Wild Sheep Chase by Murakami Haruki
    American Gods by Neil Gaiman
    <Interview with the Vampire by Anne Rice
    and
    Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf (as well as The Waves by the same lovely lady.)

    <3

Leave a Reply

