Election 2012: Excuse me whilst I extricate myself from this binder!

I never really thought that I would talk about politics here, because

a. I don’t really talk about politics period
b. Even if I did talk about politics, here would not really be the place to do it, as it has nothing to do with my writing, and
c. Even if I did talk about politics, and even if this was the place to do it, there’s not much sense in my talking about American politics when my ultimate goal is to permanently relocate myself across the pond.

But you know what?

Last night, I could not stop smiling.

And maybe the world doesn’t need more politics, or more discussion of politics, but the world does need more of this:

Hope.

A black man has just been elected, for the second time, as the most powerful man in the world. A black man, who defends the rights of women and LGBT and minorities and the poor.

An openly gay woman has just been elected, for the first time, into the United States Senate.

‘Legitimate rape’, however, does not have a place in the Senate, and has been ousted instead by another woman.

Gay couples in Maine and Maryland have just been given the right to marry. Marriage equality has been upheld and expanded.

Big Bird no longer has to go.

Maybe you don’t agree with President Obama, or all of his policies. That’s okay, and you don’t have to. The man isn’t perfect; he has made mistakes, and it is inevitable that he will make more. He is a man, and not a superhero.

Right now, that isn’t what’s important. What’s important right now is the fact that, no matter how you look at it, last night progress for equality was made. ♥

Last night, whether or not your choice for President made it into the White House, millions of people had their own identities, their own existences, reaffirmed. Last night, millions of people were given hope.

And it is hope, first and foremost, that America — and the entire rest of the world — needs.
 
 
Now, excuse me whilst I extricate myself from this binder.

Leave a Reply

