Jacey’s Epic Love of Picture Books: #16!

1hatback

I Want My Hat Back, by Jon Klassen.

One of the highlights of my job as a children’s bookseller is watching grown men (men, plural) double over laughing at a picture book about a bear who has a life-crisis because of a stolen hat and goes a bit unhinged.

Enter I Want My Hat Back.

Yesterday, we had a meme that became a book — today, we have a book that became a meme. Yep, I Want My Hat Back rather took the Internet by storm, with an entire tag on Tumblr dedicated to retelling the story using various fandoms, instead.

It’s that good, and in the best/worst way.

Jon Klassen has a knack for saying a hell of a lot with very little, and I’ve also seen the simplicity of this book’s punchline go right over adults’ heads. (And thoroughly enjoyed watching the comprehension slowly dawn, and them either burst into laughter or be so horrified that I start laughing instead.)

But kids get it. And they love it.

This, ladies and gentlemen, is why you damn well shouldn’t steal things.

Especially from angry bears.

And that probably says it all.

Leave a Reply

